We all have things about us that are beautiful
 
Picture
Each of us has so much beauty inside of us just because we think of others.

This morning I taught a class of three-year-olds. They're always precious, but today was special. One little girl that I know fairly well marched right on up to me and handed me a dandelion. "Here you go, Miss Shannon. I want to give this to you." I told her it was beautiful. And it is beautiful.

The dandelion in question, pictured above, is not only a beautiful creation, but it is beautiful because my little dancer gave it to me. She wanted to me to know that she was thinking of me. That I am important enough to her to warrant a gift. And not just any gift, but a very pretty flower that she hand-picked.

After I thanked her for the flower, she ran back to her mother and returned with a clear cup. Inside the cup was a dead grasshopper. My little dancer had named it Aurora, after her (and mine!) most favorite princess. She explained to me how when they walked to their car to drive to dance class the dead grasshopper was on their windshield. This little dancer thought the grasshopper was really pretty, which is why she named it Aurora.

And here is yet another reason I love kids. They see the beauty in more things than we do as adults. What adult takes the time to preserve a grasshopper and show it to the people around them? Look at this little guy who was once alive and enjoying life. Let's not forget about him. He is important too. Adults rarely do this sort of thing. But kids do. They care about everyone and everything. Even the dead grasshopper on their windshield.

I challenge you to acknowledge the beauty in something you don't normally notice. The way the grain in the wood is just a certain way, or the way the grass blows slightly just before a storm. Find something beautiful and out of the ordinary.

I want to hear about your stories of beauty. Comment, email, or tweet me your story or picture of something beautiful.

In the meantime, spread the word and spread the beauty.

Shannon

8/10/2013 11:10:09 am

this is really inspiring

Reply
Mel
8/10/2013 11:03:53 pm

To say "I Love This" is an understatement...and I'm so proud of you and where you are. I want to be like you if and when I ever grow up. ;) xoxo

Reply
12/22/2017 09:56:21 am

http://clinicaria.com
http://clinicaria.com/category/%d8%ae%d8%af%d9%85%d8%a7%d8%aa/
http://clinicaria.com/%d9%84%db%8c%d8%b2%d8%b1-%d9%85%d9%88%d9%87%d8%a7%db%8c-%d8%b2%d8%a7%d8%a6%d8%af/
http://clinicaria.com/%da%a9%d8%a7%d8%b4%d8%aa-%d9%85%d9%88/

Reply



Leave a Reply.


See the Beauty in Yourself